房产税和相关税费

在这个世界上,除了死亡和税收外,没有什么是确定的。

虽然这个古老的格言所言不虚,但事实上我们可以找到避免、减少或延迟纳税的办法,即使延税时间并不长。接下来,我们将介绍曼哈顿和迈阿密的房地产相关税收政策,并讨论减少、消除或延迟纳税的方法。

房产税

房产税的计算基于地方政府确定的房产估值。一般来说,曼哈顿每月的房产税率约为0.1%,迈阿密为0.2%。由于迈阿密不设所得税,所以房产税税率高于纽约。

曼哈顿房产税减免政策

421(a)减税政策-纽约投资者和居民可享受421(a)减税政策规定的优惠待遇。该政策规定,如果投资2005年至2008年间的新建住宅,则投资者的纳税额可大幅减免。详情如下: 房产税每隔两年增加一次,增加额度为正常税率的20%。第11年恢复正常税率。举例来说,假设正常情况下,一套价值90万美元的单卧公寓每月大约需缴纳900美元的税款。

  • 在减税期的前两年,房产税的名义金额约为每月60美元。
  • 第2年后,税收额将上升至180美元(900美元的20%)。
  • 第4年后,税收额将上升至360美元(900美元的40%)。
  • 第6年后,税收额将上升至480美元(900美元的60%),依此类推。直到第11年,税率将上升至900美元(或按照届时名义税率计算所得的税款)。

就此例来说,在10年时间里,房产税的节省额可达约63000美元。 税收减免待遇可随房产转让。因此,如果您在第一年购买了一处享有减税待遇的公寓,并于第六年出售,则该房产的新业主将享有余下四年的减税待遇。 421(g)减税政策–此类减免非常少见,仅适用于选择在美利街以下金融区购置新房的业主。421(g)减税政策规定,业主在购房后的前十年无需纳税,从第十年开始,业主享受四年的减税待遇。

  • 第11年,纳税额为正常税款的20%。
  • 第12年,纳税额为正常税款的40%。
  • 第13年,纳税额为正常税款的60%。
  • 第14年,纳税额为正常税款的80%。
  • 第15年,纳税额为正常税款的100%。

 

迈阿密房产税减免政策

根据《宅地豁免法》,真正的佛罗里达州居民在购买自住房时,其房产在计税时可减免25000美元。虽然居民仍然需要缴纳房产税,但应税房产的估值可减少25000美元。更重要的是,《宅地豁免法》限制房产税的增加,这才是此项豁免待遇的实际意义所在。

资本收益税

房产销售价格和税基之间的差异被称为资本收益。对于资本收益,美国政府向美国居民征收15%的税款(假设房产已持有一年以上)。外国公民适用的税率为15%至30%,具体取决于美国与买家所在国的税收协定。

出售自住房时可减值25万美元后计税

如果美国居民出售其自住房,那么只要在出售房产前的五年中,个人(或已婚夫妇)拥有房产并居住在房产中的时间超过两年,其所得的利润即可扣除25万美元(或已婚夫妇为50万美元)后再计税。如果您居住在所售住宅中的时间不足两年,则可能可以在应税额中扣除部分收益。如果由于工作地点改变,或因为健康问题或其他不可预见的情况(具体定义由国税局确定),导致您必须售房,则政策规定可将此作为例外情况对待。

第1031条—投资型房产资本收益税延期

1031条款即我们熟知的延税交换条款。根据美国国税法第1031条的规定,投资者可以通过使用当前房产交换另一处投资型房产,推迟缴纳资本收益税,只要这两处房产都符合法规对于“同类”房产的定义即可。业主可出售其房产,并在特定天数内找到并购买另一处房产,并完成过户。这些规定非常严格,因此必须严格遵守。有关这方面的详细信息,请参阅1031延税交换-资本收益税延期

通过融资购房时,前10至15年免征所得税

对于可从房租收入中扣除的费用,美国政府的规定很宽松。因此对于外国买家而言,如果通过融资购房并首付四成至五成,则在购房后的前10至15年内,可能无需缴纳任何所得税。由于贷款利息、一般费用、房产税、资产在27.5年中的折旧、保险费用、交易费用摊销都可从房租收入中扣除,所以在购房后的前几年中,房产的应税收入是负值。在随后几年中,当公寓产生应税收入时,此部分收入可由之前年份的负应税收入抵消(又名税务亏损结转)。因此,业主在购房后的多年内都不用缴纳所得税。有关详细信息,请参阅本网站的房产投资的成本结构部分。 外国买家必须及时选择使用费用抵消租金收入,否则必须按照总收入30%的统一税率缴纳税款。因此,即使在购房后的前几年,投资出现税务亏损,使得外国买家无需为其获得的租金收入纳税,该买家也必须及时填写所得税纳税申报表,选择费用抵扣一项。

外国人投资房地产税收法(FIRPTA)

当非美国居民出售其在美国的房产时,美国税务局要确定他们是否支付了资本收益税。因此,美国国税局将按照房产总购买价的10%扣税。当业主向美国税务当局申报资本收益税时,任何退税(若有)都将退还至申报人。如果外国买家选择1031延税交换,则可以避免此操作。

外国买家必须考虑规避美国遗产税

如果外国买家死亡,其遗产将被美国政府征收接近45%的税。如果外国买家做出一些早期安排,可以轻松规避。这个安排涉及到组建一家有限责任公司(LLC)和一家外国公司。买家将其房产归于LLC名下,再将LLC归于外国公司名下,而买家自己将持有外国公司的股票。在这种情况下,由于房产由外国公司“拥有”,外国买家死亡后,美国政府将无权对房产征税。这对于外国买家是合理避税,操作起来费用也不高。然而还有一点需要提醒您,公司资本收益税的税率是35%,而个人是15%。但是通过建立外国公司持有房产还有其他好处,即股东可以出售其股份,最终重新持有房产,而无需引致资本收益(或美国规定的其他应税事件)。 在任何情况下,我们都建议投资性房地产的任何业主至少创立一家LLC以持有其资产,由此买方的责任将仅限于该资产本身的价值(LLC不会持有任何其他房产或资产)。然后,买家可再创建一家外国公司,由其拥有LLC,从而进一步保护外国买家,使其免缴房产税。 如果外国买家不希望开设LLC和外国公司(或许因为房产投资较小),也可以选择另一种方式,即购买与房产等额的人寿保险。如果一位40岁的健康男子或女子投保20年期的人寿保险,每年支付保费350美元,死亡时可获得50万美元的死亡保险金。而在购买相同保险的情况下,一名50岁的健康男子或女子可能每年需支付1000美元的保费。在这种情况下,虽然该外国买家无法规避遗产税,但在其死亡后,其继承人仍可获得等额收益。

Real Estate and Related Taxes

buildings_row

In this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes.

While this old adage is true, there are ways to avoid, reduce or delay taxes, even if it’s for a short period of time. Following, we will discuss the real estate-related tax schemes for Manhattan and Miami and identify ways to reduce, minimize or delay taxes.

Property Taxes

Property taxes are calculated on the assessed value assigned by local governments. Generally, the property tax rate per month for Manhattan is approximately 0.1% and for Miami it is 0.2%. Since Miami does not have an income tax, its property tax rates are higher than in New York.

Manhattan Property Tax Abatements

421(a) Tax Abatement - One thing that NYC investors and residents love is the 421(a) tax abatement, which was offered to apartment owners of certain buildings built from 2005 to 2008. The 421(a) tax abatement provides for a steep reduction in taxes for investors in new developments that were built between 2005 and 2008. Here is how it works: Every two years, property taxes rise by 20% of the normal tax rate until the 11th year when the tax becomes the normal rate. Take for instance, a 1-bedroom apartment that costs $900,000 and would have a normal tax of approximately $900 per month.

  • In the first two years of the abatement, the property tax will be a nominal amount of about $60 per month.
  • After the second year, the tax will rise to $180 (20% of the $900).
  • After the fourth year, the tax will rise to $360 (40% of the $900).
  • After the sixth year, the tax will rise to $480 (60% of the $900) and so on and so on, until the 11th year, when the tax rate will rise to the $900 (or whatever the normal tax rate is at that time).

In this example, property tax savings would amount to approximately $63,000 over the 10-year period. The abatement follows the property, so if you bought an apartment in a tax abatement building in the first year and sold it in the sixth, the new owner would have another four years of reduced taxes. 421(g) Tax Abatement – This abatement is very rare and only applies to select new buildings in the Financial District below Murray St. A 421(g) abatement provides for NO property taxes for the first 10 years and then reduced taxes for the remaining four years.

  • 11th year, the tax amounts to 20% of the normal tax.
  • 12th year, the tax amounts to 40% of the normal tax.
  • 13th year, the tax amounts to 60% of the normal tax.
  • 14th year, the tax amounts to 80% of the normal tax.
  • 15th year, the tax amounts to 100% of the normal tax.

 

Miami Property Tax Abatements

Bona fide Florida residents receive a $25,000 exemption for their primary residence under the Homestead Exemption Act. While residents still pay property taxes, the assessed value is reduced by $25,000 before the tax is calculated. More importantly, the Homestead Exemption limits property tax increases, which is the true value of this exemption.

Capital Gains Taxes

The difference between the selling price and the basis of the property is defined as a capital gain. The US government imposes a 20% tax on this gain for US residents (assuming the property was owned for more than one year).  For Foreign Nationals, depending upon the US tax treaty with the buyer’s home country and the structure that they use to hold the property, the tax can range from 20% to 35%.

$250,000 Exclusion on Sale of Primary Home

For US residents, individuals can exclude up to $250,000 in profit from the sale of a primary home (or $500,000 for married couples), as long as the home was owned and lived in by the individual (or couple) for two out of the last five years. If you lived in the home for less than two years, you may be able to exclude a portion of the gain. Exceptions are allowed if you sold your house because the location of your job changed, because of health concerns or as a result of other unforeseen circumstances (as defined by the IRS).

Section 1031 – Capital Gains Tax Deferral on Investment Property

A 1031 Exchange is known as a tax-deferred exchange. Under Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue Code, an investor can defer the capital gains tax by exchanging one investment property for another, as long as the two properties meet the “like-kind” property definition in the code. The owner would sell their property and within a specific number of days, identify and then purchase and close the transaction on another property. The rules are very strict, so they must be followed exactly. See the 1031 Exchange – Capital Gains Tax Deferral page for more detailed information on this topic.

No Income Tax For the First 10 to 15 Years When Financing Real Estate Purchases

Foreign Buyers who finance their purchases with a 40% to 50% down payment will likely not pay income taxes for the first 10 to 15 years, as the US government is very generous when it comes to those expenses that are allowed to be deducted from rental income. Since mortgage interest, common charges, property taxes, depreciation of the asset over 27.5 years, insurance, and amortization of closing costs are all deductions against income, in the early years the property will generate negative taxable income. In future years, when the apartment is generating taxable income, the income can be offset by prior year negative taxable income (a.k.a. tax loss carry forward). This results in no income taxes for many years. See the Cost Components of a Real Estate Investment section of this website for further information. Foreign Buyers must make a timely election to offset rental income with expenses otherwise they will be charged a flat rate of 30% on total receipts. Therefore, even in the early years, when the investment is making tax losses and the foreign buyer will owe no taxes on the rental income of the property, he or she must file timely income tax returns so the election is in place.

Foreign Investment in Real Estate Property Tax Act (FIRPTA)

When a non-resident sells US property, the Internal Revenue Service wants to be sure they get paid capital gains taxes. Accordingly, the IRS withholds 10% of the gross purchase price of the property. When a US tax return is submitted reporting the capital gains tax, if there is any refund due, that money will be refunded to the filer. This can be avoided if the foreign buyer makes a 1031 Exchange.

Foreign Buyers Must Plan to Avoid the US Estate Tax

When a Foreign Buyer dies, his or her estate will be taxed by the US government at close to 45%. This is easily avoided if the foreign buyer does some upfront planning. The planning involves a setting up a Limited Liability Corporation (LLC) and a Foreign Corporation. The LLC would own the property, the Foreign Corporation would own the LLC, and the buyer would hold shares of stock in the Foreign Corporation. Under this scenario, since the property is “owned” by the Foreign Corporation, the US government would receive nothing upon the death of the Foreign Buyer. This is a great tax savings for Foreign Buyers and is not very expensive to implement. One caveat, however, is that the rate for the capital gains tax for a corporation is 35% vs. 20% for an individual. However, the shareholder could sell their shares of stock that ultimately hold the property without triggering a capital gain (or a US taxable event), so there are other benefits to holding the property in a Foreign Corporation. In any case, it is advisable for any owner of investment real estate in the US to create at least an LLC to hold the asset, since the buyer’s liability would be limited to the value of the asset (as the LLC would not hold any other property or assets). Taking this one step further by using a Foreign Corporation to own the LLC would provide protection to the Foreign Buyer against the estate tax. If a Foreign Buyer does not want to maintain the LLC and the Foreign Corporation (perhaps because the investment is small), an alternative approach would be to obtain life insurance in the amount of the property. A healthy 40-year-old man or woman who buys a 20-year term life policy, might pay $350 per year for a $500,000 death benefit. The same policy for a 50-year-old healthy man or woman would likely be $1,000 per year. While the Foreign Buyer would not avoid the estate tax, his or her heirs would receive the same amount in the case of death.

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -