外国人购买美国房产时的税务和法律问题

 

外国人购买和出售纽约房产时的常见问题解答

作者:Romer Debbas律师事务所Pierre Debbas律师

 

  1. 外国人能否在美国购买房产?

外国人可以在美国购买房产。通常情况下,购买共有公寓比购买合作公寓更容易。合作公寓不仅要求所有买家参加面试,而且具有无理由拒绝买家的法定权利。 此外,合作公寓还要求买家提供大量的个人和财务信息,并且不偏向于非居民业主。通常情况下,购买共有公寓的审查过程更简单,而且共有公寓委员会可放弃其对公寓的优先购买权。同时,买家能够以信托、国内有限责任公司或外国公司的形式购买共有公寓。上述三种途径都能为外国买家带来债务保护和税收规划方面的优势。

 

  1. 外国人在购买纽约市房产时,需要缴纳哪些税?

非居民外国人无需因其没有居留身份而缴纳特定的税款。购买纽约市房产时,所有买家都可能必须缴纳以下税费:

    1. 如果房产的购买价超过100万美元,需缴纳购买价的1%作为豪宅税。也就是说,只要购买价超过100万美元,便需要缴纳豪宅税。
    2. 某些情况下,购买新开发的房产时,开发商或赞助商通常会要求买家缴纳交易转让税。对于50万美元以下的房产,买家须向纽约市缴纳购买价的1%作为转让税;对于等于或超过50万美元的房产,则需缴纳1.425%的转让税。无论房产价值多少,纽约州转让税均为购买价的0.4%。如果所购房产并非新开发的房产,则买家负责缴纳转让税。
    3. 融资购房的买家必须缴纳按揭登记税。对于50万美元以下的房产,按揭登记税为:2.05%,其中0.25%由贷款人缴纳。对于等于或超过50万美元的房产,按揭登记税为:2.175%,其中0.25%由贷款人缴纳。

 

  1. 外国人在出售纽约市房产时,需要缴纳哪些税?

外国人需要缴纳收益税和FIRTPA预提税。目前,联邦收益税为净资本收益的15%。净资本收益金额即房产收益减去原购买价、交易费用以及房屋整修(修缮)费用。同样,纽约州对非居民收取8.82%的净资本收益税。

另外,外国卖家还需缴纳外国人房产投资税(FIRPTA)。以下对FIRPTA预提税加以说明。

 

  1. 什么是FIRPTA?

FIRPTA是外国卖家需缴纳的一种预提税。FIRPTA预提税税率约为总售价的10%。如果卖家目前尚未向美国国家税务总局(IRS)缴纳所有其他税款(即所得税和资本收益税等),则其出售房产时扣缴的10%税款应可退税。

通过信托方式出售美国房产的外国受益者和外国公司必须预提销售所得金额的35%。

 

  1. 什么是遗产税,外国人是否需要缴纳遗产税?

但在纽约拥有房产的外国人亡故时,需缴纳纽约遗产税。如果外国人在美国拥有价值约在6万美元以上的任何有形或个人财产,则其亡故后,需进行纽约遗产税申报备案。目前,纽约遗产税的税率为16%。

外国人亡故时,其在美国拥有的房产也需缴纳联邦遗产税。目前,联邦遗产税的税率最高可达35%。在此方面,美国公民的个人免税额可达500万美元。已婚夫妇的免税额最高达1000万美元。然而,除非与所在国订立了相关的税收协定,否则非美国公民不享有免税待遇。请参阅下文对于此类协定的说明。因此,6万美元以上的房产均需缴纳遗产税。 下文推荐了一些用于规避联邦遗产税的途径,例如建立不可撤销的信托和外资控股公司。

 

  1. 以个人名义购买房产有哪些优缺点?

目前,个人的长期资本收益税税率为15%,而C类公司则无需缴纳资本收益税。联邦企业的税率最高可达35%。对于外国买家而言,这意味着如果由个人拥有房产,则售房所获资本收益的应缴税款会低于以标准公司的名义售房。然而,通过建立有限责任公司,外国人可免缴上述税款,并享受15%的联邦资本收益税税率。成立有限责任公司的个人可按自己的个人税率纳税,而无需担负高达35%的企业税率。因此,如果外国买家以个人身份拥有房产,在税收方面并不能享受明显的优惠待遇。

虽然在税收待遇方面,个人拥有房产与有限责任公司拥有房产之间并无显著不同,但是在负债保护方面,两者存在差异。在美国,以个人身份拥有房产的外国买家可能会遭遇诉讼,而有限责任公司可保护外国买家的资产,使之独立于有限责任公司拥有的财产,免于承担债务责任。购买纽约房产的业主必须在纽约市和纽约州登记其所有权,且公众可通过网上数据库访问登记数据。鉴于此,有限责任公司可向外国买家提供额外的隐私保护。

如果外国人希望以个人身份购买房产,则可通过建立不可撤销的信托持有房产。通过建立不可撤销的信托,外国人亡故时可免于缴纳遗产税。此外,信托可以提供与公司类似的隐私保护。

 

  1. 以美国公司或有限责任公司的名义购买房产有哪些优缺点?

如上所述,通过有限责任公司或美国公司拥有房产,外国买家可获得债务保护和额外的隐私保护。与标准公司不同,成立有限责任公司的外国人可按个人税率,而非企业税率纳税。但是,通过有限责任公司拥有房产的方法并不能规避遗产税。如果要规避遗产税,外国人可在纽约创建一家有限责任公司,同时在英属维尔京群岛等地创建另一家外资控股公司(BVI)。如果该BVI隶属于纽约有限责任公司旗下,则外国人无需缴纳美国房产的遗产税。在此架构下,IRS会将房产所有权视为一种无需缴纳房产税的无形资产。

 

  1. 什么是税收协定,它会如何影响我的税收义务?

美国与许多国家都缔结了税收协定。根据这些协定,外国居民可享受更低的税率,或某些收入可免于纳税。各国享有的低税率和免税优惠各不相同。这些协定还包括豁免联邦遗产税,并向某些外国居民提供500万美元的联邦遗产税免税额。

如果买家所在国和美国未缔结税收协定,或者如果该协定未涵盖联邦遗产税的条款,则外国人亡故时,价值6万美元以上的房产需缴纳联邦遗产税。目前,IRS在其网站上公布了美国与外国缔结的税务协定的副本:

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/international/article/0,,id=96739,00.html

 

  1. 如果我购买房产,税收要求是否与本国居民不同?

外国人购房时的税收待遇并无不同。然而,如上所述,如果以信托或BVI等外资控股公司的名义购房,则可免于缴纳美国遗产税,并享受额外的债务保护和隐私保护。但另一方面,通过信托或离岸公司购房的做法无法规避售房时需缴纳的联邦资本收益税或FIRPTA预提税。

 

  1. 我如何获取TIN?

在美国进行纳税申报时,IRS要求提供纳税人识别号(TIN)。TIN有四种不同的类型:

社会安全号

要获得社会安全号,除了填妥SS-5表格外,您还必须提交您的身份证明、年龄证明和美国公民身份或合法外国居民身份证明。社会安全管理局的网站为:

http://www.ssa.gov

雇主识别号

商业实体、信托和地产机构均使用雇主识别号。您可以通过IRS网站在线申请EIN:

http://www.irs.gov

个人纳税人识别号

个人纳税人识别号(ITIN)是不能获得社会安全号(SSN)的某些外国非居民和居民的纳税号。通过向IRS提交W-7申请表即可获得该号码。

代理人纳税人识别号

有偿报税代理人必须在IRS网站上申请代理人纳税人识别号(PTIN)。

 

Pierre Debbas律师是Romer Debbas律师事务所的合伙人,专门为国际和国内客户提供遗产和税务规划,以及房产规划服务。要与Pierre取得联系,可致电+1-212-888-3100或发送电子邮件至PDebbas@romerdebbas.com

Tax and Legal Issues For Foreigners Buying US Real Estate

park_ave_spring

 

Answers to FAQ’s of Foreign Buyers and Sellers of New York Real Estate

by Pierre Debbas, Esq., of Romer Debbas LLP

 

  1. Can a foreigner buy property in the US?

A foreigner can buy property in the US.  It is usually easier to purchase a condominium, rather than a cooperative. Cooperatives require all purchasers to be interviewed and they legally have the ability to reject a buyer without providing a reason.   Cooperative boards also ask for extensive personal and financial information and do not cater to non-resident owners. Typically, condominiums have an easier review process which involves the condominium board waiving their right of first refusal to buy the apartment. Additionally, condominiums allow purchasers to buy in the form of a trust, domestic LLC or a foreign corporation.  All three vehicles can provide liability protection and tax planning advantages to a foreign buyer.

  1. When buying a property in New York City, what taxes does a foreigner need to pay?

A nonresident alien does not need to pay a specific tax due to their residence status.  All purchasers potentially have to pay the following taxes when purchasing a property in New York City:

    1. Mansion tax of 1% of the purchase price, if the purchase price is over $1 million. If the purchase price is over a million then mansion tax is due.
    2. For certain purchases of a new development property, developers, or sponsors typically require the purchaser to pay the transfer taxes on the deal.  New York City transfer taxes for properties under $500,000 are 1% of the purchase price and for properties equal to or over $500,000, the transfer taxes are 1.425% to the New York State.  New York State transfer taxes are .4% of the purchase price regardless of the value of the property. If the property is not a new development, then the purchaser will not be responsible for transfer taxes.
    3. A purchaser who obtains financing will have to pay a mortgage recording tax.  The mortgage recording tax for properties under $500,000: 2.05%, of which .25% is paid by the lender and for properties equal to or over $500,000:  2.175% of which .25% is paid by the lender.

 

  1. When selling a property in New York City, what taxes does a foreigner need to pay?

A foreign person needs to pay gains tax and FIRTPA withholding tax.  Federal Gains tax is currently 15% of the net capital gain.  Net capital gain is the amount of the gain on the property with the original purchase price, closing costs, and capital improvements (renovations), subtracted out.  Similarly New York State charges an 8.82% non-resident gains tax on the net capital gain.

A foreign seller is also charged a Foreign Investment in Real Property Tax (FIRPTA). The FIRPTA withholding tax is discussed below.

  1. What is FIRPTA?

FIRPTA is a withholding tax required of a foreign seller.  The FIRPTA withholding tax amounts to roughly 10% of the gross sales price.  If the seller is current on all of their other taxes owed to the IRS (i.e. income taxes, capital gains tax, etc.) then they should receive a refund of the 10% that was withheld at the sale.

Trusts with foreign beneficiaries and foreign corporations that sell a US property must withhold 35% of the amount realized on the sale.

 

  1. What is the Death Tax and do foreigners have to pay this?

Foreigners have to pay New York death tax if they own property in New York when they die.  Any tangible or personal property located in the U.S. and valued over approximately $60,000, requires the filing of a New York estate tax return when the foreign person dies. Currently, New York estate tax has a rate of 16%.

Foreign persons are also subject to Federal estate tax on property owned in the U.S. when they die. Currently the estate tax rate can be as high as 35%. U.S. citizens are given an individual exemption from the tax up to 5 million dollars.  Married couples are currently exempt up to 10 million dollars.  However, non U.S. citizens are not granted the exemption, unless a treaty exists with their country.  See the discussion on treaties below.  As a result, property valued above $60,000 is subject to estate tax.   Discussed below are suggestions of vehicles that can be created to avoid Federal Estate tax including an irrevocable trust and a foreign holding company.

  1. What are the advantages and disadvantages of buying in the name of an individual?

Currently, long term capital gains tax rates are 15% for individuals and there is no capital gains treatment for   C corporations.  Federal corporate tax rates can be as high as 35%.  What this means for the foreign buyer is a tax savings on the capital gains on the sale of the property if it is held individually as opposed to a standard corporation. However, these taxes can be avoided, and the foreign person can obtain the Federal capital gains tax rate of 15%, by creating an LLC.  LLC’s allow individuals to be taxed at their own individual tax rate, instead of being subject to the high corporate tax rates of 35%.  As a result, there is not a significant advantage in tax treatment to a foreign buyer if they own a property individually.

While there is not a significant difference in tax treatment between owning the property individually or through an LLC, there is a difference in liability protection.  Owning a property individually can subject the foreign buyer to lawsuits in the U.S., whereas, an LLC can protect the foreign buyer’s assets outside those owned by the LLC from liability.  An LLC can also provide the foreign buyer with additional privacy protections, as purchasers of property in New York are required to register their ownership with the city and state and these registries are accessible to the public in online databases.

If a foreign person wishes to purchase the property individually, they can create an irrevocable trust to hold the property.  An irrevocable trust will avoid estate tax when the foreign person dies.  In addition, a trust can provide similar privacy protections to a corporation.

  1. What are the advantages and disadvantages of buying in the name of a US corporation or LLC?

As noted above, owning a property through an LLC or US corporation can provide liability protection and additional privacy to the foreign buyer.  Unlike a corporation, an LLC provides the foreign person the ability to be taxed at their individual rate, as opposed to corporate tax rates. However, owning the property through an LLC alone, will not avoid estate tax.  In order for a foreign person to avoid estate tax, they can create a New York LLC in addition to a foreign holding corporation such as a BVI, which is a corporation formed in the British Virgin Islands.  Provided the BVI is the member of the New York LLC, the foreign person can avoid estate tax on US owned property. Under this structure, the IRS views the ownership of the property as an intangible asset, which is not subject to estate tax.

  1. What is a Tax Treaty and how will that affect my tax liability?

The US has tax treaties with many foreign countries. Under these treaties, foreign residents are taxed at reduced rates, or are exempt from U.S. taxes on certain items of income. These reduced rates and exemptions vary from country to country.  Many of these treaties also cover Federal estate tax and provide certain residents of foreign countries a pro-rated amount of the Federal Estate tax exemption of 5 million dollars for individuals.

If there is not a treaty between the buyer’s country and the U.S., or if the treaty does not cover Federal estate tax, then a foreign person is subject to Federal estate tax on the value of the property over $60,000 when they die.  The IRS currently has copies of the tax treaties between the U.S. and foreign countries available on its website:

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/international/article/0,,id=96739,00.html

  1. Am I treated differently for tax purposes if I buy a property?

A foreign person is not treated differently when they buy the property for tax purposes.  However, as noted above, buying a property in the name of a trust or a foreign holding corporation such as a BVI can avoid estate tax in the US and provide additional liability and privacy protections.  However, purchasing a property through a trust or an offshore company will not avoid Federal capital gains tax or FIRPTA withholding tax on the sale.

  1. How do I obtain a TIN?

A taxpayer identification number (TIN) is required by the IRS to file all tax returns in the U.S. There are four different types:

Social Security Number 

To obtain a social security number you must submit evidence of your identity, age, and U.S. citizenship or lawful alien status in addition to completing a form SS-5 with the social security administration. The social security administration’s website is listed below:

http://www.ssa.gov

Employer Identification Number

An employer identification number is used by business entities as well as trust and estates. You can apply for an EIN online through the IRS website:

http://www.irs.gov

Individual Taxpayer Identification Number

An Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), is a tax number for certain nonresident and resident aliens, who cannot get a Social Security Number (SSN). It can be obtained by filing a W-7 application with the IRS.

Preparer Taxpayer Identification Number

A paid tax preparer must apply for a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) on the IRS’ website.

 

Pierre Debbas, Esq., is a Partner at Romer Debbas LLP, who specializes in estate and tax planning, as well as real estate for international and domestic clients. Pierre can be reached at +1-212-888-3100 and PDebbas@romerdebbas.com.