1031延税交换—资本收益税延期

 

1031延税交换是指美国国税局规定的、房产投资者可享有的延税交换待遇。“交换”并不是指两位业主真正交换房产,而是指业主卖出一处房产后再购入另一处。美国国税法第1031条对此类交易作出了规定,敬请参阅。

若某项资产的出售价格高于原购买价格,即发生资本收益。个人资本收益的税率为15%,公司则为35%。通过1031延税交换,您可将资本收益税的支付延迟至比正常情况稍晚的日期。

 

1031延税交换的益处

延税交换的主要益处在于,纳税人可在不产生任何直接应税收入的前提下出售房产。通过使用此方法,纳税人可进行资产对换,同时仍持有原本应缴纳的递延税款。

例如,根据1031延税交换政策的规定,购房者无需出售一项投资房产,并支付资本收益税,再用净收益购买其他房产,而是可以使用总销售收入投资于新房产,不必缴纳资本收益税,从而将资本收益税的支付推迟至新房产售出之时。

1031延税交换政策还有另一项益处,即投资者的继承人在为其所继承的房产纳税时,可享受递增基数待遇。虽然对投资者而言,其房产的税基将降低(例如沿用旧房产的税基),但当投资者死亡后,其继承人获得的房产将以过让至继承人之日的公允市场价值计价。出售继承所得的房产时,继承人需为继承之日房产的公允市场价值与销售价之间的差额缴纳资本收益税。

 

同类房产

1031延税交换条款要求用于交换的两处房产应属于“同类”房产。根据此规定,出售商业投资房产并购买住宅投资房产的行为属于同类交换,反之亦然。然而,根据规定,使用外国房产交换美国房产的行为并不属于“同类交换”,因此参与交换的房产必须位于美国。

 

1031延税交换的弊端

纳税人也应该了解,延税交换也存在下述几个弊端:

  1. 由于旧房产的较低税基将被转移至新房产,所以交换后的房产税基(即税款价值)将下降。因此,如果纳税人使用1031延税交换条款购房,那么新房产的折旧扣除额将低于未使用该条款时的扣除额。
  2. 如果业主选择使用延税交换,则需聘请专业人士并支付额外费用,从而增加交易成本。
  3. 除了再次投资于房地产外,纳税人不得将出售房产的收入用于其他用途。否则,未用于房产再投资的收益将无法享受税收优惠。

 

符合资质的中介机构

1031延税交换条款要求纳税人聘请美国国税法第1031条所定义的、符合资质的中介机构,以协助处理整个流程。

业主必须将销售房产所得的全部收益,包括非现金收入(例如除房产外,您可能在交易中一并获得的船只)送至符合资质的中介机构,用于购买新的房产。如果卖家直接或间接获得任何物品(无论其价值多么低廉),卖家都会失去延税交换资格,导致所有收益均需纳税(如果是外国买家,则适用FIRPTA规定的预提)。

 

具体规定:寻找和交换房产的期限

  1. 新房产必须位于美国境内。
  2. 卖家应在旧房产过户之日后的45天内向符合资质的中介机构提供其有意向购买的房产清单(此清单被称为“45天清单”。清单上通常会列出多套房产,使买家可在交易失败时购买其他备选房产)。
  3. 卖家应在旧房产过户日后的180天内购买“45天清单”上列明的一套或多套房产。
  4. 售出旧房产后,卖家必须使用与旧房产业主同等的法律名称购置新房产。
  5. 新房产的购买价格必须大于或等于旧房产的销售价格。
  6. 在使用出售旧房产所得收入支付过户费用和负债后,卖家必须将余款送至符合资质的中介机构,用于购买新房产。

业主必须严格遵守上文所述的45天期限。即使第45天是周六、周日或美国的法定假日,该期限也绝无延期之可能。延税交换日期结束于以下日期后的第180天,以较早者为准:当事人转让其房产之日,或转让其房产当年的纳税申报截止日。同样地,业主必须严格遵守上文所述的180天期限。即使第180天是周六、周日或美国法定假日,该期限也绝无延期之可能。

 

外国卖家也有资格利用1031延税交换条款处置其资产

美国政府规定外国卖家同样适用1031延税交换条款。除了上述一般性规则外,FIRPTA还针对1031延税交换提出了一项额外要求,以避免预提10%的所得税。此额外要求是,外国卖家必须向负责将旧房产从外国卖家转移至买家/受让人(如产权或第三方保管公司)的个人提供以下物品:

  1. 美国国税局针对特定交换交易出具的、允许受让方无需扣税的扣缴税款凭证,或;
  2. 外国卖家出具的、证明卖家已申请扣缴税款凭证的通知。

首先,在转让任何房产前,任何外国业主都应提前计划获得ITIN,并在安排进行任何房产转让后尽快申请扣缴税款凭证。其次,在销售过程的早期,任何希望参与1031延税交换的外国卖家都应向专业博学,而且符合资质的中介人士咨询,并聘请经验丰富的顾问,由其提供税务或财务建议,并协助完成过户和报税流程。这一点至关重要。如果您希望由我们推荐符合资质的中介人士,欢迎联系我们。
有关外国买家可能遇到的各种问题,请参阅外国买家指南页面。

1031 Exchange – Capital Gains Tax Defferal

5ave

 

A 1031 Exchange is a tax-deferred exchange that the IRS allows on investment property. “Exchange” refers not to the actual exchange of properties between two owners, but to the process of selling of one property and buying another. Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue Code governs these transactions, hence the reference to 1031 Exchange.

A capital gain results when the selling price of an asset is higher than its original purchase price. Capital gains are subject to a 15% tax for individuals and a 35% tax for corporations. A 1031 Exchange defers the capital gains tax to a later date than it would normally be paid.

 

Advantages of 1031 Exchange

The primary advantage of a tax-deferred exchange is that the taxpayer may dispose of property without incurring any immediate tax liability. This allows a taxpayer to keep the earning power of deferred tax dollars while at the same time exchanging assets.

For example, rather than sell an investment property and pay the capital gains tax and then use the net proceeds to buy another property, the 1031 Exchange rules allow an investor to forego paying the capital gains tax and use the total proceeds of the sale to invest in the new property, thereby deferring the capital gains tax until the new property is sold.

Another advantage is that the investor’s heirs get a stepped-up basis on such inherited property. While the investor receives a reduced basis in the property (e.g., the basis in the old property), upon the investor’s death, his or her heirs would receive the property at fair market value at the date of transfer to the heirs. When the heir goes to sell the property, they will pay tax on the difference between the new selling price and the fair market value of the property at the time of inheritance.

 

Like-Kind Property

1031 Exchange rules require that the two properties be “like-kind” property. The rules consider the exchange of residential investment property for commercial investment property, and vice versa, to be like-kind. However, the property must be in the US, as an exchange of US property for foreign property is not considered “like-kind” under the rules.

 

Disadvantages of a 1031 Exchange

The taxpayer should also consider that there are a couple of disadvantages to a tax-deferred exchange, as follows:

  1. There will be a reduced basis (i.e., tax value) in the replacement property, since the lower basis from the old property will transfer to the new property. Because of this, the taxpayer will have lower depreciation deductions on the new property than he or she would have had if he or she purchased the property without a 1031 exchange.
  2. There will be increased transactional costs for completing a tax-deferred exchange, as the owner will incur additional professional fees.
  3. The taxpayer may not use any of the net proceeds from the disposition of the property for anything except reinvestment in real property. Otherwise, there will be tax consequences on the amount of the proceeds not used as reinvestment.

 

Qualified Intermediary

A 1031 Exchange requires a Qualified Intermediary, as defined by Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue Code, to handle the entire process.

All of the proceeds from the sale, including non-cash proceeds (such as a boat that you might receive in trade in addition to the property), must go to the Qualified Intermediary to be used for the purchase of the new property. Anything received directly or indirectly by the seller (no matter how insignificant) will disqualify the entire transaction, resulting in the recognition of the entire gain (and in the case of a Foreign Buyer, resulting in FIRPTA withholding).

 

Very Specific Rules re: the Identification and Exchange Periods

  1. The new property must be located within the US.
  2. From the closing date of the old property, the seller has 45 calendar days to provide the Qualified Intermediary with a list of properties they want to buy (this list is called “The 45-Day List” and there is typically more than one property on the list in case a deal falls through).
  3. From the closing date of the old property, the seller has 180 calendar days to purchase one or more of the properties on The 45-Day List;
  4. The seller of the old property must take title to the new property in the same legal name in which they owned the old property.
  5. The seller must buy new property for an amount equal to, or greater than, the sale price of the old property.
  6. Cash from the sale of the old property, after paying closing costs and liabilities, must go the Qualified Intermediary and be used for the purchase of the new property.

The 45-day timeline must be strictly followed, as it is not extendable in any way, even if the 45th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal US holiday. The Exchange Period ends at exactly 180 days after the date on which the person transfers the property relinquished or on the due date for the person’s tax return for that taxable year in which the transfer of the relinquished property has occurred, whichever is earlier. Again, the 180-day timeline must be strictly followed, as it is not extendable in any way, even if the 180th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal US holiday.

 

Foreign Sellers can also Qualify for 1031 Treatment of Their Assets

The US government makes it possible for a Foreign Seller to use the 1031 Exchange provisions. In addition to the normal rules noted above, FIRPTA imposes an additional requirement upon 1031 Exchange rules in order to avoid the 10% withholding. The additional requirement is that the individual responsible for transferring the old property from the Foreign Seller to the buyer/transferee (such as a title or escrow company) must receive from the Foreign Seller either:

  1. A Withholding Certificate issued by the IRS that sanctions the particular exchange and allows the transferee to avoid withholding any tax, or;
  2. Notice from the Foreign Seller that certifies that the seller has applied for a Withholding Certificate.

First, any foreign property owner should plan ahead to obtain an ITIN far in advance of transferring any property, and to apply for a withholding certificate as soon as any property transfer has been arranged. Second, it is critical that any Foreign Seller wishing to complete a 1031 Exchange consults with a knowledgeable, professional, qualified intermediary early in the sale process, and as well procures tax or financial counsel from experienced advisors, to assist them with the closing and US tax filing process. If you would like references for a Qualified Intermediary, please let us know.

For more information about the issues facing Foreign Nationals, see the Foreign Buyer’s Guide page.